Travels

Lima, Peru

Pacific Ocean from Barranco

So much for a travel blog, eh? Anyway, since I posted last, something like a month ago, I’ve traveled quite a bit and I figured I’d post some quick recaps of the cities I’ve visited.

Let’s start with Lima. Well, I didn’t so much travel to Lima as live there. Honestly, Lima was fantastic, especially if you like to eat and don’t like to spend money. My rent was $200 per month. 3-course gourmet lunches for $3.50 were the norm and cheaper wasn’t uncommon. Of course, it’s possible to spend a lot of money anywhere you go, but the food you could get in Lima for a reasonable price was unreal.

Ceviche

Causa

Anticuchos (cow hearts), and yes those are coals right on the table

Arroz con Pollo

Tacu Tacu

Lucuma Crepes

Unfortunately, most people who visit the city do so only for a day in route to Machu Picchu and don’t leave with the best impression. A common response from other travelers when learning I’d been living in Lima for two months was something resembling pity. They’d only seen the weather (it’s quite Seattle-esque), the pollution (given, it is the most polluted in South America), and the poverty, but it’s a city that grows on you, even if the beer selection is limited to fizzy yellow stuff. The people are friendly, the public transportation is improving, the food fantastic, and the views of the Pacific from Miraflores and Barranco are quite idyllic. It’s by no means my favorite in the world, or even Peru, nor could I live there for an extended period of time, but it’s definitely worth a visit.

Miraflores Sunset

Standard

One thought on “Lima, Peru

  1. I’m really glad to hear you enjoyed your time in Lima! I’m due to arrive there in October for the start of a year’s surf trip and I’m hoping to stick around for a week or so to soak up the good food and culture and hopefully a few waves before heading north. Could you recommend a good area of the city to stay? Just looking for somehwere pretty mellow near the surf – I’m currently deciding between Miraflores and Barranco but open to any suggestions! Thanks and happy travels!

Leave a Reply

