Travels

The Road Less Traveled

Merry Christmas! I hope your holiday season has been going as well as mine so far! I can’t believe that in 4 days I’ll be on my way to Europe. This trip has really snuck up on me and I’m nowhere near ready yet. Anyway, I’m a bit nervous to be traveling by myself on a trip of this size for the first time, but I’m definitely excited. I’ve changed around my plans a little, but most of the trip is the same.

worldmap

Luckily, I’m traveling solo and have a lot of flexibility due to it being the off season in Europe as it’s way too cold right now. Here’s a rough itinerary:

The Rough Plan

The Rough Plan

Budapest, Hungary: 3 days

Bratislava, Slovakia: 1/2 day

Vienna, Austria: 2 days

Ljubljana, Slovenia: 4 days

Budapest, Hungary: 1 day

I know that doesn’t even add up to 2 weeks, but like I said, it’s a pretty rough itinerary.

I might throw in one more city, but won’t plan that until I get there. I’m considering Cesky Krumlov, Czech Republic; Trieste, Italy; or Salzburg, Austria. Maybe I’ll do some more exploring in the small towns around the above itinerary and not do any of these. We shall see.

Think Trieste might be worth a visit?

Think Trieste might be worth a visit?

I’m really excited for Slovenia, and I’ve also only heard good things about Budapest, but the most exciting part of the trip is the things that are forcing me to step (way) out of my comfort zone: traveling by myself, going places where I don’t know anyone, not knowing a word of Hungarian, Slovene, etc., spending each night in a room with 5-10 strangers, and lots of improvising.

Steve Kamb, one of my favorite bloggers, wrote a post over at Nerd Fitness earlier this year about doing sh*t that scares you before setting off on his own 35,000 mile trip around the world. Like him, I’ve pretty much lived my life in a safe bubble. That’s not to say I haven’t had an amazing life with plenty of experiences so far (flying in on a float plane to a 50 mile canoe trip in Canada, snorkeling the Great Barrier Reef, traveling to Nicaragua for a medical service trip), but when faced with a fork in the proverbial road, I’ve generally avoided the road less traveled. This trip is more than just a vacation. It’s taking that adventurous road, doing shit that scares me, because when I look back on my life in 10 years, I want to be able to say that I threw caution to the wind and spent my winter break in Ljubljana.

Standard

Leave a Reply

